TWRA’s Technical Staff

TWRA’s technical staff is currently composed of 208 researchers working in 64 areas of knowledge and distributed in 20 Brazilian states. In addition, they are present in 107 different institutions, including public and private universities, government institutions and ONGs.

Honorific Members

Mario Borges Neto, Ph.D.

Advisory Councilor
Graduated from the Pontifical Catholic University of Minas Gerais (PUC-MG), he holds a master’s degree in Electrical Engineering from the Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG) and a PhD in Artificial Intelligence Applied to Education from the University of Huddersfield in England. He held the positions of Scientific Director and President of the Research Support Foundation of the State of Minas Gerais (Fapemig), in addition to having commanded the National Council of State Research Support Foundations (Confap) between 2009 and 2013. He was Academic Director of ABENGE (2005-2007 and 2008-2010) and President of CNPq from 2016 to 2019. He is currently Associate Professor IV at the Federal University of São João Del Rei (UFSJ), where he was Rector from 1998 to 2004.

Stuart E. Bunn, Ph.D.

TWRA General Coordinator in Australia
Bachelor of Science with Honors and Doctor of Philosophy from the University of Western Australia. He was the founding director of the Australian Rivers Institute at Griffith University in Brisbane, Australia. His main research interests are the ecology of rivers and wetland systems, with a particular focus on the science to underpin river management. He has extensive experience working with international and Australian government agencies and industry on water resources management issues. Member of the Murray-Darling Basin Authority and has served as National Water Commissioner of Australia, Chair of the Lake Eyre Basin Ministerial Forum Science Advisory Panel, Chair of the Scientific Committee for Healthy Land and Limited Water, and as Director of Land and Water Australia. Recently appointed a member of the Earth Commission, hosted by Future Earth, and elected a member of the Australian Academy of Sciences in 2022.